London, United Kingdom - TripAdvisor Holiday Letting, tree-cycle1234

Truly amazing - the best guest house we have ever stayed in

Left on Jan 28, 2016 for a stay in Dec 2015-stay at Galle Henna Estate

An exceptional guest house. We rented the whols place and felt really at home. It is immaculate - a beautifully restored old house with antique furniture. Bedrooms spacious with 4 posters with full mosquito nets (not that there were many), amazing bathrooms. Rooms were cleaned every day and beds made, with frequent fresh sheets and towels. The majordomo Manju and his staff look after everything perfectly (he even has a tuk-tuk for guests -at a modest price). Food is amazing - you just agree what you'd like - the cooking is fantastic and they can make lots of Sri Lankan specialities (you just pay for the shopping, bills are provided). Location is very good, a perfect quiet location overlooking paddy fields (with ibis, buffalo and exotic birds). The swimming pool is immaculate and a great place to relax. Nearby are good beaches, but when at home you are away from the tourist trail. Also within easy reach is an ancient rock temple, and Galle. We loved to wander about in Galle fort and see sunsets from the ramparts or the balcony bar of the Rampart Hotel. Galle itself has interesting bustling streets and an extraordinary department store that sells 'everything'! This house is exceptional in every way!

“Relaxing,rejuvenating,peaceful”

Reviewed yesterdayNEW

Imagine a beautifully restored heritage villa set among the sylvan surroundings of paddy fields, far, far from the madding crowd. That is Galle Henna Estate. We were two families consisting of 7 people who were visiting Galle for the first time. We reached the villa in the morning after a harrowing,sleepless night with our flight having been delayed by 6 hours. The moment we landed at the villa the smiling faces of Manju,Upali and the rest of the staff lifted our spirits. We had a wonderful breakfast the first of many fantastic meals at the villa. It is tempting to stay in the villa and not venture out. There are books to read, games to play and a swimming pool to swim in(which glows with purple lights at night).The staff are all exceptional, attentive and unobtrusive. You can sit in your bedroom and look out at the green paddy fields and watch the dark rain clouds roll in. Manju,the manager, takes care of all your needs whether it is ordering food, suggesting menus or arranging transport and suggesting places to visit.We loved the Sri Lankan food served at the villa. This was a memorable holiday which will stay with us for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with family

 Report

Ask PADMAJA_10 about Galle Henna Estate

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g3198032-d5967473-r378914763-Galle_Henna_Estate-Talpe_Galle_Southern_Province.html#

 

Wow!

What an amazing house and location! We stayed here for 2 nights and had the whole house for our selfs (that was part of the charm aswell). I can not think of anything what could have been better, the rooms were spacious and with an enormous bathroom (!) the house is amazingly renovated, the pool is to die for and the location is excellent (5 min from Talpe beach, one of Sri Lanka's most beautifull beach and 20 min from Galle). It was more then perfect, we could not wish for a better place to stay in that area of SL south. And the staff, what can i say: they are so nice and kind! 

From Dordrecht, Netherlands · March 2016

 Galle Henna Estate, comfy room - AC

 

Saranya-airbnb guest

I can safely say this was one of the most beautiful houses that my friends and I have stayed in.

From the start to the end of the stay we were in awe. Manju and his colleagues looked after us so well, we felt like princes and princesses! They made delicious breakfasts for us, always taking our requests into consideration and to top it all off gave us the best send off with a bbq by the pool (we paid for the ingredients but they went over and beyond with their service). The home is spacious and as it looks in the photos and even if you are a big group, you will have your privacy. We all hope to be back. Thank you!!

March 2016

Galle henna estate 

 

Stayed 5 nights in this beautiful beach house. Quick responses from host. Great location, clean and tidy, simple but modern with Airconditioning that works very well. Breakfast of fruits, eggs and toast. Friendly and helpful staff. Very happy and I would return to stay here. Thank you.

Leave Public Response -Stayed Galle Henna Beach House

April 2016

 

From Sichuan, China · February 2016-stayed at Galle Henna Estate

房东Svava非常热心而且耐心,在预定前不厌其烦的帮助我解决问题,入住不久后又收到她的问候信息。强烈推荐,这是一栋远离喧嚣的度假庄园,开车到加勒约25分钟,离乌拉瓦图纳海滩约10分钟,如果你包车这当然不是问题。服务人员训练有素,别墅内陈设精美精心布置,热水充足空调效果很好,一切都很棒。Svava is a nice and patient owner,I'd like to highly recommend this villa to later (website hidden) is a quiet villa far from noisy,it costs about 25 minutes drive to Galle and 10 minutes drive to Unawatuna Beach,If you rent a car,the distance is not a case.Manager Manju is warmhearted and all staff are well trained,all facilities in the Villa are high quality and good taste,shower is very warm and abundant,everything is good,thanks.

 

Simon Wales- Booked on Air bnb and stayed at Galle Henna Estate

We stayed at the galle henna estate for 10 days, we had such a lovely time. The villa and wildlife was just amazing, we saw monitor lizards, snakes, King fishers, purple face langur monkeys, wood peckers and squirrels all while just sat around the pool. The staff were great and if you get the chance I would definitely go to mihiripenna beach and the whale watching with 'raja and the whales' . 

 

April 2016

China, Sichuan - Airbnb, Yiru

February 2016-stayed at Galle Henna Estate

我们在SVAVA的别墅里度过了愉快的假日,别墅位于加勒Talpe的一条宁静的乡间小道里。这里空气清新,白天小松鼠甚至会从客厅穿行而过,夜晚院子里还能看见萤火虫。房间的布置也充满了殖民地风情的南亚情调。 别墅有1名经理3位服务员以及1位守夜的看门人为我们服务。经理MANJU的英文很不错,能够非常清晰的了解我们的需求,根据我们的意见采购食材,为我们准备了每天的早餐以及一次泳池边的BBQ。3名服务员总是会在你们需要的时候及时出现,随时清洁屋子,整理房间。守夜的老大爷,每天晚上都会在客人休息后,关好别墅的大门。身为佛教徒的他还会在入夜后为我们祈福。 如果你是和家人朋友一起来加勒度假,一定不要错过这个别墅,我相信这里一定会带给你惊喜! We have amazing vaction here! a quiet country road villa is located in Talpe in Galle.The air is fresh, In the morning the small squirrels even through the living room, and at night we can see the firefly. The layout of the room is also full of the colonial style of South asia. The villa has 1 managers 3 waiters and 1 night keeper. Manager Manju's English is very good, can be very clear understanding of our needs, according t!o our views to buy food for us to prepare a daily breakfast and arrangement a BBQ for us. 3 waiters will always appear when you need to, Every night after we sleep, the night keeper shut the door for us.He is Buddhist he praying for us every night. If you have vaction with your family and friend, you can not miss this villa, I believe you will have a surprise

 

“Just choose this little patch of paradise!”

  • Don't look any further. Just stay here!!! Honestly it was absolutely amazing. Perfect place, lovely pool, beautiful decore, staff so helpful. Great place to stay close to Galle and beach. You would struggle to find something as lovely as this for the price.

    You and 1 other person found this review helpful.

  • January 11, 2016 stayed at Galle Henna Estate

  • Tarnya booked with booking.com

     Australia

    2 Reviews

    1 helpful vote booking .com

    10 rating

“Parfaite ”  Tripadvisor, February stay 2016

Cette maison est magnifique ! C'est calme. Le personnel est accueillant et toujours souriant. La piscine est grande et très bien entretenue, on peut même y manger.
Le chef nous a cuisiné des plats à tomber par terre, un délice ! 
Ces vacances au Sri Lanka était magique et cette maison y a contribué ainsi que son super manager


 

 

Zurich, Switzerland, February Airbnb, Reto

Big Family Suite with AC. Galle Henna EState

Very nice location. One of the best on our Sri Lanka trip. Big family room with two wonderful bathrooms.

All in old colonial style.

Thanks!!

 

Gwyn W

 

“Amazing Property, Amazing Location, Amazing Experience”

  

Left on 02/02/2016 for a stay in December 2015-stayed ay Galle Henna Beach House

This place is located right at the end of UnaWatuna beach - the best sunset views and, because it's the last property on the beach, there are no passing beach walkers.... so it feels 'exclusive'.
The house itself feels very cool and upmarket - the decor and furnishings are simple, but good quality. The large downstairs living / dining area opens out onto the front terrace (with another large dining table) and a garden that overlooks the sea. Upstairs is a large veranda with sea views and three large double bedrooms, each en-suite. We needed extra beds in each room and this was no problem. The bedrooms are fab! Air-conditioned, four-poster beds, large bathrooms with walk-in showers. Everything is high quality and very tasteful.
Breakfast was great - fruit, eggs, toast etc.... other meals were available too... but we decided to wander down the beach each evening to try different beach bars.
This is a real hidden gem..... but Sshh!, Don't tell everyone..... we'll be back here again!

Detailed ratings for this rental​

 

  • Avaneesh Thautam

    An amazing place overlooking the beautiful Unawatuna Beach. Modern in design and very well kept. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Probably the best possible place along the whole beach. Great access to the beach, good food is right down the road/beach. 

    Stayed Galle Henna Beach House

 

Absolutely loved my stay here and wish I could come back!

The staff (Jeevan and Chaturanga) are the sweetest and were super helpful. Loved the welcome Coconut water, it was super refreshing! The views from the villa are stunning.. I got to see one of the best sunsets I've ever seen in my life from the outdoor space. The interiors of the villa are super modern as well.. it was an absolute pleasure to stay here.

From Dubai, United Arab Emirates · April 2016

 Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

Est.2002