luxury villa, villa rental, villa rental reviews, family holiday, beach view, galle beach villa, sri lanka holiday, reviews, reviews matter, book villa with good reviews, amazing reviews, villa reviews, beach reviews, galle review, review, reviews, unawatuna beach

 

 Recent reviews received for our properties with appreciation from Airbnb, Booking.com and Tripadvisor...

 

Stayed at Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

season 2020

 

Svava’s place was clean, stylish and in a great location, being right on the beach and water. Located on the eastern end of Unawatuna, it was much more peaceful, with an easy walk into the louder part of town. Also it is a lot bigger than it appears in the pictures, being quite spacious. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, spoke well and made our stay really wonderful. Breakfasts were amazing too! We will be back to stay there for sure. We highly recommend!

 

Daniel, Camp Hill, Australia

Joined in 2019

Stayed at Sea View Rooms with A/C on Unawatuna Beach

season 2020

 

This is a great property. Beautiful view, on the beach, close to nice restaurants. What makes it special is the hospitality by Tharindu and Chathuranga. They really made us feel special when we checked in. The arrangement in the room was made with a lot of attention to detail. Tharindu made us a great breakfast. His wood apple smoothie was very tasty. We would highly recommend this place for stay. Thanks for good times.

 

Ashima, Mumbai, India

Joined in 2016

Stayed at Sea View Beach Villa on Unawatuna

season 2020

 

Svava and the staff were really helpful. Chatur made sure of our breakfast needs every morning and helped us with day to day travel suggestions. The rooms are exquisite and sparkling clean with a nice quiet balcony area right outside. The unparalleled view from the rooms of the ocean are to die for, would recommend anyone traveling to Unawatuna to stay here. Definitely worth it!

 

Samir, India

Joined in 2017

Stayed at Room - Beach front property with Swimming Pool

season 2020

 

Fab place with larger than average plunge pool and gardens opening on to the beach and ocean. Glass panel from elevated bathroom meant you could shower with a sea view! Great situation between Galle and Mirissa -we tuktuked to both and turtle hatchery next door but one - we released 6! Staff are excellent cooking a great breakfast and bringing lime juice in the garden. Filtered water always available from the kitchen. Lovely ambiance with indoor plants and comfy furniture. Our room was black and white themed and we spent a lot of time on the balcony gazing to the ocean! Loved it! KK restaurant in one direction for smart eats and Wiener schnitzel beach bar in the other for more casual meals was great!

 

Ann And Tim, Christian Malford, United Kingdom

Joined in 2017

Stayed at Beach - Family Room - Great View

 

Amazing location right on the beach. The apartment was fantastic and the view from the balcony overlooked the pool and the sea - it was stunning.

 

Emma, Sheffield, United Kingdom

Joined in 2017

Stayed at Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

season 2020

 

Nice place near a beautiful beach. Right next door nice restaurant, very convinient. Chatu made our stay even better-very helpfull, providing great service, always ready to help. Other guys in the facility also great, just the best to say for them. Juices in the morning are the best ever❤️ and the sunset from the terrace to fall in love with. Looking forward staying here again when we come back.

 

Miroslav, Samobor, Croatia

Joined in 2016

Stayed at Sea View Rooms with A/C on Unawatuna Beach

season  2020

 

December 2019

 

Great host, great breakfast, great local knowledge and genuinely happy to help with anything! They even bring your swimming stuff in overnight if it rains whilst you are asleep! Awesome start to our trip! Thank you !

 

Toni, Hitchin, United Kingdom

Joined in 2016 ·

November 2019

You could not get nearer the beach this place is practically in the sea. It's a very stylish place..with grear attention to detail. Breakfast was great and Chathu and the staff took great care of us..I would highly recommend.

 

Tracey, Colne, United Kingdom

Joined in 2015 ·

Bossen

October 2019

You really can‘t ask for more. It all starts with a awesome house, a nice beach (good swimmers only), super super!!!friendly staff, nice rooms, easy but big breakfast and much more! We were really lucky to spend our last days there! We will be back for sure!

 

 

This place was worth alone for the scenic views and the location. Add friendly staff, a sparkling clean room and property, and a beautiful room, this was the perfect accomodation! P.S. the doorbell for the place is a small string on the right side of the gate, which we had a little trouble finding but was forgotten once we entered

 

Rajat, India

Joined in 2016 · Report

Stayed at Room - Beach front property with Swimming Pool

August 2019

 

Great place to stay, and a beautiful location. When travelling into galle, simply flag a bus on the street outside, they all travel to galle fort and charge 50 rupies PP. Great place, and lovely staff that provide great food. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

Lewis, Cardiff, United Kingdom

Joined in 2016 · Report

Stayed at Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach

August 2019

 

Such an amazing place with an fantastic view over the ocean. The service was great and we couldn‘t asked for a better place to relaxe for a few days.

 

Franziska, Zürich, Switzerland

Joined in 2017 · Report

Stayed at Room - Beach front property with Swimming Pool

August 2019

 

The place is really beautiful and the pool is really nice! The staff is super friendly and helpful. They make you every morning a nice breakfast right in the garden with a view on the sea! And they also help you rent a scooter or something like that!

 

Isabell, Bubikon, Switzerland

Joined in 2017 · Report

Stayed at Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

July 2019

 

This is the place i am going to recommend to my friends and family who plan a trip to the south of Sri Lanka. The interior of the room is very nice, the AC makes sure that the temperature is maintained very cold and fresh. The bed is great, same goes with the washing area. Staff here are amazing, they gave us plenty of tips, prepared a nice breakfast for us every morning and helped us arrange day to day stuff. The location is good, one minute to the beach. Ten minutes to two other great beaches,…Read more

 

Linus, Vänersborg, Sweden

Joined in 2017 · Report

 

This is amazing sea view place. I will keep memories about it in my heart.

Interior is very stylish, full of nice details. Stuff is 24 hours on place and ready to help you with everything. Even it was local new year, and I knew that on some places stuff were off. C Breakfast is also nice, more European, with eggs and coffee, than on other places, where we have been during this journey. This was the only one place, where they give us kids bed and chair without us even ask for it. They have…Read more

Stayed at Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach

April 2019

 

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights on the last leg of our trip, and it was the highlight of our time in Sri Lanka.

The property is magnificently beautiful -- decorated like it's out of a magazine, clean, very spacious, and full of special little touches (fresh flowers, extra towels, filtered drinking water). Also, the A/C is incredible. It could not be more conveniently located, as it is directly on the beach and you can walk along the sand to and from the bustling shops,…Read more

 

Daniela, New York, NY


There are almost no words to describe this place, the Galle Henna Estate is a magical place, very quiet and very peaceful.

For those who appreciate the seclusion of the inland, enjoying the peaceful view over the rice fields - here is the perfect place. By tuktuk you can reach Galle in 25 minutes, Talpe 5 minutes, Unawatuna in 10 minutes. But you can also simply enjoy the estate and spend the whole day and night there. Actually we extended our stay by two nights! The communication with Svava is absolutely great, the staff in the house is very friendly and always helpful. Thanks Svava, we felt like guest an extraordinary home. We will never forget this place.

Yvette

March 2019

An extraordinary place to stay. A truly exquisite house in a traditional style which is elegant, cultured and very comfortable. Aruna, the house manager, is a superb host and remarkably informative, genial and more than keen to make our stay comfortable. We were surprised that the house was more beautiful and interesting than we expected. Photos struggle to capture the wonder of this house. Thank you! Chris & Emma

STAYED AT GALLE HENNA ESTATE:From England, United Kingdom · March 2019  ·   Tropical garden suite with AC

 

How to express the pleasure we felt staying in such a beautiful / fantastic house.

Thank you so much The style of the house and furniture were so special - we found the beautiful furniture very interesting. Location and and the beautiful garden was just what we wanted. Of course we think it's nice with the sea - but we like to hurry away from the buzzy traffic and many people on the sea hotels today. We simply couldn't wish for anything better than this house. A true oasis! We would like one day to be able to return to SriLanka - and if so - this special place We were very satisfied with the staff It is heigly recommend

 

Kirsten, Hørsholm, Denmark: STAYED AT GALLE HENNA ESTATE

 Stayed at Tropical garden suite with AC

February 2019

 

 

My family's stay at Svava's villa is the highlight of our trip to Sri Lanka!

The property is beautiful, tastefully done, clean and comfortable - and best part are the people - kind, polite and overall lovely. Svava and Arun (the manager) are very accommodating, even with last minute requests. The house is located slightly off the main road and surrounded by paddy fields so it is peaceful and still has easy access to the beaches, restuarants. This has been one of the most memorable experiences for my family and me.

From India · February 2019  ·   Big Family Suite with AC.

STAYED AT GALLE HENNA ESTATE

If you are considering traveling to Sri Lanka at all, you MUST book this place. Do not think twice.

Not only is the property lovely, the location is absolutely perfect. We truly enjoyed our time there. Filtered water to fill our water bottles was an extremely nice feature. The staff are super helpful and gave incredible local recommendations. Definitely request the Sri Lankan breakfast at least one of the days you stay. Svava was extremely helpful even prior to our arrival. Cannot speak highly enough of this place/owner! If you are having any doubts/questions at all- fell free to message me anytime and I will absolutely ease any concerns. HIGHLY recommend staying here!

From Kimberly, WI · February 2019  ·   Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach

 

 

What a find

 super close to so many attractions and beautiful beaches - we had such a relaxing time and the staff really helped out with local tips and directions. Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

January 2019  ·  

 

Anton

We had an absolutely lovely stay at The Bieshu Beach Hive. The house is fantastic,

has got a great view over the ocean and a lovely pool where we spent a lot of time. The guys working at the house looked after us 24/7 being super accommodating. Also the communication with Svava was prompt and easy. Due to the big waves and strong undercurrent it’s “not possible” to swim in the ocean but it’s easy to get a tuktuk outside the door taking you to any of the beaches within close distance. We can highly recommend this stay!

From Gothenburg, Sweden · January 2019  ·  

 

 

Svava’s house is amazingly beautiful

and only a short tuktuk ride away from Unawatuna. Perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy peace and quiet while still having the option to go wining and dining to Unawatuna beach. The pool area is great for a hot day and bathtub cozy for rainy nights. The lounge area in the house is super beautiful and you can even use the kitchen if needed. We also got some good tips from Svava. Thanks again for letting us stay!

From Melbourne, Australia · December 2018  ·   Galle Henna Estate, comfy room - A/C

A proper gem.

 

The house has been beautifully restored and decorated. The gardens and the pool are a calm oasis away from the bustle of Unawatuna. We felt really well looked after by Manju and the team. They organised transport to town, and back to Colombo. The food was also great, from a tasty breakfast of sri lankan pancakes in the house, to a delicious lunch of grilled fish by the pool. Would definitely come back.

From London, United Kingdom · December 2018  ·   Big Family Suite with AC.

The Galle Henna Estate - It is an absolutely amazing place to stay

and a must stay for anyone who is coming to galle and looking for a beautiful estate experience slightly away from the fort area. Had a wonderful time here and will definitely be coming again. Thanks for everything

From Pushkar, India · December 2018  ·   Big Family Suite with AC.

 

This is definitely not your ordinary airbnb.

We were pampered from the minute we drove in and looked after warmly through out our one week stay. The pool was a blessing in the heat and the dinners we have cooked for us every night were better than any other restaurant we went to. We will definitely be back.

From Pune, India · November 2018  ·   Big Family Suite with AC.

We had an absolute amazing time in this wonderful designed location! Great place to enjoy the sunset and to visit the beautiful beach closed by. The team is fabulous and very supportive. Absolutely recommended

From Rastatt, Germany · November 2018  ·   Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach

 

Willem

This authentic house is fantastic and a great place to stay. The helpful staff is very kind. The house, garden and swimmingpool are kept clean continiously. We enjoyed every minute of our stay!

From Nuenen, Netherlands · November 2018  ·   Big Family Suite with AC.

 

Ebba

We had a wonderful stay at galle beach fort. The place (and especially the view!!) is beautiful and the staff is helpful and freindly. Very good breakfast aswell, definitely recommend it to anyone who plans to visit unawatuna.

From Viken, Sweden · November 2018  ·   Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

 

Madelaine

Booking here is an absolute must. Stunning house and incredible location. We were so well looked after and did not want to leave. Thank you!!!

From Paris, France · November 2018  ·   Tropical garden suite with AC

 

 We felt like a king and queen.

Highly recommend this place!

From Amsterdam, Netherlands · October 2018  ·  

Such a beautiful tranquil place. The pictures cant even do it justice.

The staff are so welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to help me with laundry. Svava is really sweet and - and accomodating. 10 out of 10. I am defintely coming back to stay.

From Dublin, Ireland · October 2018  ·  

 

Jodie

Svava was a wonderful host and we were impressed with every aspect of our stay.

Svava was extremely responsive and amazingly flexible in allowing us to book very last minute. Her staff are m on the ball, always offering coffee, tea, water, towels, umbrellas before we ever even needed to ask - we mentioned to them we were leaving at 4:30am for a safari, and when we got down they had smoothies and fruit waiting for us. The view and location are stunning - right on the ocean right beside unawatuna. You can sit on the balcony and sip tea, or walk about 100 meters to the beach and go swimming. Just a wonderful stay and amazing value! Thank you Svava and team!

From Ottawa, Canada · October 2018  ·  

Bianca

Magnificent location, accommodation right on the waters edge.

The ocean is right at your fingertips and provides a gorgeous view and atmosphere. The whole place is very clean and has a wonderfully modern aesthetic. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly, accommodating your every need. Would definitely return again!

From North Wollongong, Australia · October 2018  ·  

Svava was extremely responsive and helpful with every inquiry we had.

Our group was slightly large, and he was very accommodating of our request. The bungalow itself is not difficult to find if one follows Svava's instructions. I would recommend not taking (Hidden by Airbnb) maps as it was a longer journey. The place is spacious, tastefully decorating combining the old and new (architecture is absolutely marvelous), and is great for kids. I would warn against the floors being a bit slippery, especially near the pool entertainment area but this is normal for any sort of cement floors (there are also signs which remind guests that floors are slippery when wet). The rooms were large, except for two rooms with the double bed and the single bed respectively, but even those were a decent size. I would like to specially mention the staff who were very accommodating and very attentive. They would ask whether we needed anything every half an hour or so when we were near the pool area. Manju, who was our house manager, was very kind. His wife makes excellent Sri Lankan meals, and I would recommend everyone try it. They also got a BBQ going for us in no time. In night there is always one member of staff on duty. The surrounding area is quiet and peaceful, and the house itself overlooks a paddy field. We sincerely enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

+ More

 

Sheran

Perfect to reset and get some much needed rest and relaxation ... The beach is almost private!! Pool is awesome and perfect for chilling...

well desiged with an underwater ledge to sit on... Decent Breakfast included... friendly staff that mind their own business till you need them... they are very oblidging... The Room was quite spacious... bathroom clean.... AC and Fan are great! Very comfortable.... common area... great to shit and chat..... Roof top is spectacular.... the view is great.... it will be awesome to sit up there in the evening for a drink. Good Fresh breeze with the costant soothing sounds of the waves in the background through out he whole stay!!! No too far from good food spots. You need to come stay here..... Perfect Place!!!!

 

Buddhika

Svava's place on airbnb has not got lovely photos, but I booked it because the beach looked amazing. When we arrived we noticwd that this was the perfect place. It was much much better than I ever expected. Everything looked mazing. It was calm and quiet with the loveliest beach that we enjoyed so much. And the room and tge view from it was amazing. We were offered a really nice breakfast. If I were to go back, i would definitely stay at this place. Highly recommended.

 

Kirsty

** Even better than on the website **

We booked this place last minute and I’m so glad we did. Finding the location was fine, I phoned the owners and they were so helpful. We were welcomed by the most friendliest staff. We sat in the communal area soaking up the most incredible views of the ocean. We were bought a lovely and refreshing welcoming drink, such a lovely touch. We then went to our room which just blew us away. We’ve travelled Sri Lanka and stayed in some lovely places, however this place felt tranquil - right next to the ocean, with a fabulous seating on the balcony. In the room the guys did so many personal touches, which made this place feel so warmly to stay in. We only had 2 nights (wish we stayed longer) the location is great. Make sure you visit Galle Forte, well worth a visit! Thank you to everyone working here, we LOVED our stay.

Exceptional service in stylishly renovated estate

We stayed for a total of 5 nights at the Galle Henna Estate with a gap in the middle for trips to the rainforest and Udawalawe National Park. When we returned, Soonil collected us from safari and Ajith and Denesh welcomed us 'home' like family. We all felt as if we were staying in a beautiful family home, cared for by charming and friendly staff. Denesh and I cooked together one day, they made a delicious roast fish dinner for us another day and we lounged around the beautiful garden and pool to unwind. They arranged tuk tuks for us and a taxi to Colombo on departure day (fabulous Soonil again).
The renovation is stylish and comfortable and it was great to borrow magazines, books and boardgames. A perfect stay. Would love to return.

Show lessRoom Tip: The family suite included lounge area, two bedrooms and two large bathrooms! 

See more room tips

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family​, Galle Henna Estate

Jenny W

Soller, Spain

We were absolutely delighted with our stay. The decor is magnificent and the room was adorned with fresh flowers on arrival.

Chathu was an excellent host and welcomed us with a coconut cocktail. Our breakfast was fresh and tasty, with a delicious papaya juice. Chathu also gave us good tips about how to best maximise our time for sight seeing in the area. The accommodation is easy to find, being on the main road. Svava had left very clear instructions on how to communicate with the house manager, who was waiting for us on arrival. Svava's communication was excellent and prompt in every way...we really appreciated this. I would recommend this beautiful home to anyone who visits this part of the world....we had a wonderful stay!

From Brisbane, Australia · August 2018  ·  

 

Svava’s place has been definitely our best experience on Airbnb.

The garden was much bigger than it looks on the pictures , every detail is so well thought , the place is super stylish! And boys that work there are very nice and helpful! Thank you for this amazing experience! We can’t wait to return to this fabulous villa! Cheers Sopio and Giorgi

 

Sopio

July 2018

stayed at galle henna estate

 

 

Martin

July 2018

Do not miss this beautiful place if you visit the south!

The place is newly renovated and the host has an extra eye for details. We had incredible service (like in a top hotel) and we got served tea and coffee during the day and a good breakfast.the (3) rooms have breathtaking views over the ocean and an very cool and modern interior (very (Hidden by Airbnb) mable). You share a very nice common area and garden downstairs, also with a view and the unawatuna beach is just two min away by foot – the beach with the swing is just a short tuktuk ride away. The rooms were clean and we got a lot of help from the staff (they are there 24/7) and they are just super nice. We absolutely loved it and are very grateful for the nice welcome!

Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach

 

 

This place is amazing!

Very clean, very well decorated. It's like a mini retreat! A beautiful view of the beach (ocean front) in a very safe + quite area. Included air conditioning, a full large bathroom and a comfortable bed! The staff was fantastic, very accommodating, helpful, knowledgeable and kind. Breakfast was served each day and was delicious! The staff also provided plenty of information as to local attractions and restaurants. They even arranged transportation for us each day and to our next destination. We loved it! We will definitely be staying here again in the future!

From Las Vegas, NV · July 2018

stayed at Bieshu Beach Hive

 ·  

We have stayed in a number of air bnb's throughout the UK, Europe and a few in Sri Lanka. This really is the most outstanding home we have had the pleasure of staying in. The place is just so wonderful, thoughtfully put together with terrific style.

The bedroom and bathroom were beautiful, it all felt very luxurious. The garden, pool and views were fantastic. The staff were first class and coordinated by the brilliant Manju who was so friendly, caring and really helpful. The food was excellent. We had an unforgettable experience that will stay with us for some time. Hopefully one year we will be fortunate enough to return.

From Bath, United Kingdom · February 2018  ·  

stayed at Galle Henna Estate

We had the best time at Bishu Beach Hive. It was the end of our trip and it was definitely the grand finale.

The house and it's 3 rooms are absolutely gorgeous - very modern, beautifully designed and the interior is on point. Loved waking up to the sounds of the ocean every morning and even managed to get up for our Yoga session on the roof top (amazing view!). The pool is small, but absolutely sufficient, as you've got the whole ocean to swim in. Although the waves are quite rough and proper swimming is not recommended, it was nice to splash around in the waves a bit and enjoy the empty beach. We spent some time on Unawatuna beach and it was beautiful but quite packed, so we loved having the beach to ourselves. The staff was lovely and always helpful when we needed a tuktuk, taxi or anything else. Breakfast was nice, although I would have preferred something more locale than toast, eggs and sausages. Wonderful stay, definitely recommend it! 

From London, United Kingdom · January 2018  ·   Beach, swimming pool and A/C

stayed at Bieshu Beach Hive

 

Exceeded all our expectations and we felt like we were leaving our family when we left.

This place is exceptional. 

stayed at Galle Henna Estate.

Kate

January 2018

 

Incredible house with good vibes,

exactly what you need to spend for a nice time with family and/or friends! Tasty decoration, nice volumes, beautiful furnitures, relaxing pool space! Amazing staff! Manju and his team are just so nice and helpful! The food served in the house was just incredible from the breakfast to the diner. We'll definitely come back! Thanks Svava, Manju and all the team!

January 2018  ·   Galle Living - Galle Henna Estate 5 bedroom villa

 

Superbe maison telles que les photos.

Au calme les pieds dans le sable. Jolie plage propre. Piscine parfaite pour se détendre. Chambre avec vue sur la plage pour se laisser bercer par les vagues. Le personnel fut au petit soin. Svava est une super hôte On recommande vivement ce logement. Marlene Sean et bebe Vic

From Tourcoing, France · January 2018  ·   Beach, swimming pool and A/C

stayed at Bieshu Beach House

 

I wish I had booked more days in this place as it was one of the best I stayed in Sri Lanka.

Very pleased with everything. We loved so much the chairs and vases and all the decoration that we ended up going to the shop selling the vases in Colombo and got a few of them there.

From London, United Kingdom · December 2017  ·   Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach

 

 

Beautiful property with stunning views.

Perfect place to stay in Unawatuna close enough to everything but away from the busier areas! The staff at the property are so lovely and made our stay fantastic! Would definitely go back!

From London, United Kingdom · December 2017  ·   Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach

 

The Henna Estate is a truly gorgeous house

boasting an amazing decor, beautiful antiques and a wonderful garden and pool. The manager Manju and his team are exceptional. The service impeccable and all staff very attentive and friendly. It was a very special start to our honeymoon and we didn't want to leave! The bedroom was luxurious and very relaxing. Lovely little personal touches make the stay even more special. The photos on the site don't do it justice, it really is stunning. The food was wonderful. Breakfast was plentiful and we were lucky to sample Manju's wife's wonderful cooking. The best curry we tried in Sri Lanka. Manju is amazing. He gave up some of his time on his day off to take us out, he organised our trip to the national park and made us feel like friends rather than guests. He even contacted us to make sure we were okay in our new hotel the day after we left and sent a message asking if we had arrived home safely. We feel that we've made a lifelong friend and we can't thank him enough for making our stay so special. The Henna Estate is a little slice of paradise, the perfect retreat for relaxing.

From Winchester, United Kingdom · September 2017  ·   Tropical garden suite with AC

很不错的体验,喜欢这家的装修风格,周围的景色也是很美,整栋房子被包裹在神秘的树林里的feel,住在里面感觉自己穿越到过去,非常美妙的感觉,适合三四个朋友一起住。另外值得一提的是,最后一天,我们在泳池旁边开了bbq爬梯,食物是主管全程陪同我们去超市买的,也是主管和阿精他们亲自下厨做的,很美味,服务也是一级贴心,非常满意,非常难忘的一次体验。

From Willingboro, NJ · October 2017  ·  

Book it!

An absolutely fabulous place in the perfect location. Super stylish interior decoration, clean, with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The Staff are helpful and discreet, and serve a great breakfast to start your day. Lovely ensuite bathroom, and plenty of wardrobe space. The Air Conditioning works very effectively, but you'll probably not need it, as there is the perfect gentle sea breeze just outside your patio doors. Peaceful and calm with no noise but the lapping of the waves. The verandah just outside your bedroom door feels very private, and is a great place to relax. The view of the Indian Ocean and beach is just beautiful. At the right part of the beach, and all that Unawatuna has to offer. Svava responds very quickly, is very easy to communicate with, and was really helpful and accommodating all our needs. 

From Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka · September 2017  ·   Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach

 

EXCEPTIONAL!!!

Stunning property, in a fantastic location at the southern end of Unawatuna beach. Only a short stroll to the main shops and restaurants but far enough away to feel like we were at our own little piece of heaven. Property so cleverly designed taking full advantage of its seafront location with all of its 3 bedrooms with ocean views and huge breezy downstairs lounge/dining area with same aspect. The large rooms could be considered more like suites with a sofa and four poster bed in each. Plenty of areas through the house to spread out & relax as well. The property was extremely tastefully appointed and looks like its straight out of a design magazine, yet with a chilled relaxed vibe that befits it beachside location. Svava's place was a highlight on our trip to Sri Lanka.

Air bnb guest stayed august 2017

''Wished we had discovered it sooner! ”

The henna estate is the most beautiful home that I have ever stayed. It would be unjust to call it a 'hotel' as the Henna Eatate has a much more luxurious and personal feel it. You feel like a guest in someone's home or like you are staying in your own home with staff to assist you. The estate is a old colonial home, with all the original features and is beautifully decorated throughout. The property is clean, relaxed and charming. It actually rained while we were staying and we couldn't have been more content just hanging around in the house. The staff themselves are friendly, polite, curtious, unobtrusive and attentive. We had originally booked to stay at hotel close by but checked out early and decided to move here and how glad we were. We spent the last two days of being in the south of Sri Lanka at the Henna Estate and we wished we had discovered it sooner!

Stayed at Henna Estate -

This is our favourite place so far in Sri Lanka.

The breakfasts are tasty. The pool is ideal for a restful afternoon. The decor is outstanding and it is the best bathroom we have ever used. A real treat. Local walks down the nearby back roads are brilliant and we found a really gentle but fantastic tuktuk driver who looked after us for 3 days. We highly recommend Chamin on +(PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) (also on (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN)). He did not take us anywhere we didn't want to go, took us to the locals gym in Unawatuna (local to Henna Estate) and found good food places. Our stay at Henna Estate is very memorable thanks for the house, staff and excursions.

stayed at Henna Estate July 2017 

This house is beautiful and stylish, in a lovely quiet location.

It is only a short tuk tuk ride to the beach and a choice of restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is modern and well-maintained, with nice views over the paddy fields. We saw lots of different kinds of birds as well. I would definitely recommend a stay here for luxurious relaxation!

From Colombo, Sri Lanka · May 2017  ·   Tropical garden suite with AC

Stayed at galle Henna Estate

This was a spectacular experience

-- the suite is lovely and the huge luxury bathroom was a real treat! The staff were very kind and it was easy to get around by Tuk to Wijaya, which is just down the road. A bonus was the morning visit by the land monitor and the appearance of the mongoose over breakfast by the pool!

Suzanne

March 2017

Wow, Svava's place is stunning!

It was such a treat to spend a few days here right at the end of our trip, it was a highlight. The décor is beautiful, exactly as shown in the pictures. The location is perfect, at the end of the beach with an amazing view. It felt calm and secluded, but was right next to everything. Lovely breakfast and a very helpful team to look after you. Pure beach bliss!

From London, United Kingdom · February 2017  ·   Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

Awesome stay. Only one place to stay near Galle is here.

It feels like Bali. So calm, so cool. The place has few rooms, so it looks like home. Furnished with a fine taste. It is about 30 min from Galle with a tuktuk. We slept here with our 2 kids in the family suite and it was perfect. We could even cook our own food in the kitchen at night. Service is perfect. Our best stay in SL.

From Paris, France · February 2017  ·   Big Family Suite with AC. 

stayed at galle henna estate

Beautiful building. Architecturally, it's stunning. Great example of Sri Lankan architecture's seamless integration with the environment.

From New York, NY · February 2017  ·   Beach - Swimming Pool in Garden - Room with A/C

stayed at Bieshu Beach hive

This is such a well designed and welcoming space.

The team that welcome and care for you are great (breakfast is delicious!!) And the view is peaceful and the corner of the beach quiet but still close to the diving and restaurants and bars. I loved staying here and was sad to leave after 1 night! The bed is clean and comfortable and the rooms are well kept. Thank you for this great space Svava - I so enjoyed my stay!

From Dubai, United Arab Emirates · February 2017  ·  

What a wonderful space! We had such a great stay here,

from walking into the light and breezy shared living room with views through to the ocean, making an evening gin and tonic in the kitchen to relaxing upstairs in our room with a stunning view - it was all so easy and the staff were only too happy to help with anything we needed. The location is fantastic, being close to all the restaurants on the main beach but far enough to escape the crowds, not to mention being close to a supermarket, fruit shop and wine store (handy!) and a short tuk tuk ride to Wijaya Beach, which is where we spent a lot of our time. We were able to check in early as the room was ready in time, and we left our bags there for the afternoon once we had checked out so that we could enjoy the beach some more - only to be welcomed back with clean towels so that we could shower before our trip back to Colombo - so appreciated! I would happily recommend this house to friends and family!

January 2017 · 

Linfu

January 2017 · 

酒店整体的设计太棒了,非常有格调 ,强烈推荐

 Galle Henna Estate, comfy room - A/C

Just want to say thank you for an amazing stay, this was a surprise for my boyfriends birthday and he was totally blown away.. and we can't thank Jeewan and Chathuranga and the guys enough for their help.. nothing was too much of an ask and we're happy to call them our Sri Lanka mates!! Thanks dudes!! This place is absolute must stay, amazing views, totally private and there's nothing better than sleeping to the sound of waves..

From Santa Eulària des Riu, Spain · December 2016  ·   Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

Fantastic location with beautiful views from the rooms. Located at the end of Unawatuna beach there are plenty of restaurants etc nearby. The staff were absolutely fantastic and always keen to help. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much!

From Cambridge, United Kingdom · December 2016  ·   Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

Iván

Amazing place, faboulous seawiews and very kind and helpful staff

From Getafe, Spain · December 2016  ·   Room With Sea View and A/C - Unawatuna Beach 

 

Location is amazing - 1 minute walk to the beach and you can sleep to the sounds of the ocean! Very clean and tidy place - highly recommend for anyone wanting to get away and relax within walking distance to Unwatuna beach area.

From Victoria, Australia · November 2016  ·   Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

 

Absolutely amazing place to stay! The young chaps name who greeted us was amazing and helpful. The room was lovely and clean and perfect for us. Overlooked the sea which was again very lovely and only a five minute walk to the main part of unawatuna beach. All in all I will definitely be returning here. Thanks for a great stay!

From Sandy, United Kingdom · November 2016  ·  

Stayed at galls henna beach house

This is a good place to either start or end your Sri Lanka trip. What we loved were the good beds, the quite AC and beautiful view across Unawatuna beach.

Jeewan is very helpful and kind. Breakfast is simple but good and sufficient and the morning view is priceless. The villa is located in the south corner of the bay, next to restaurant Sun and Sea, which is good for some nice meals. You can easily walk to the beach or get a tuktuk to go to (for example) Wijama Beach (2kms). Across the road is a liquor shop and at 10 minuteswalk an ATM. Tip for a good chill out on the beach: KingFisher. 

From The Hague, Netherlands · November 2016  ·   Sea View Room with A/C on Unawatuna Beach

 

We had a wonderful stay at Galle Henna Beach House. The staff was lovely, breakfast was good, not to mention the view... And you are right at Unawatuna Beach, a place where you can actually swim in Sri Lanka. Altogether: PERFECT!

From Kiel, Germany · November 2016  ·   Sea View - Unawatuna Beach

 

We had an absolutely wonderful time here.

Svava quickly answered any questions we had and helped arrange transport from the airport and refreshments for when we arrived. After this, Manju and his team took care of everything we needed during our stay from shopping, cooking, and transport for trips out. We could not believe the house was every bit as good as it did in the photos, but it truly does. 

From Surbiton, United Kingdom · October 2016  ·   Galle Living

stayed at Galle Henna Estate

Really really enjoyed the stay in your beautiful house. Beautiful decoration in the house and really good care from Manju. I really like the spacious bathroom and four polar bed, which is the most comfortable room I have stayed in Sri Lanka. 

From Shanghai, China · November 2016  ·   Galle Henna Estate, comfy room - AC

It was the best place we lived in Sri Lanka and the value really exceeded our expectation. The manager Manju gave us warm welcome when we arrive and provide many suggestions. At night, he even offers free ride and take us to the beach reataurant to have dinner. I think the whole team is professional. As for the house, it was beautiful. Super big bathroom, nice reading areas and fancy garden. I would definitely recommend Henna to future travelers who require not only nice place to stay but also high quality service.

september 2016 -Galle Henna Estate ·  

 Galle Henna Estate, comfy room - AC

We had a wonderful time at the Galle Henna Estate.

It was beautifully decorated with a lot taste, the rooms were big and grand and the pool area and outside areas are beautifully manicured and just perfect. The staff were attentive, kind and discreet. They made our stay at Galle Henna Estate such a pleasure and we would definitely come back again and again. 

From Mishal Paris, France · July 2016

Best views . Finest place . Sweet staff. Clean and stylish place . Lovely beach. The place gets our absolute best recommendations . Should something missing , it would be a telescope to look at the ocean and sea turtles just outside the garden.

From Hjørring, Denmark · August 2016  ·  

'' The villa is amazing! The best we could have ever dreamt of! ''

Thanks to it location it is 10 -15 minutes far from the beautiful beach of Unawatuna. The personnel is very greatful and always ready for help. No need to say about the cleaning and food cooking. The rooms are pretty like in the photos. Everything needed for the perfect holiday on Sri Lanka!

 

shestova -booked on Air bnb and stayed at Galle Henna Estate May 2016

Spent last weekend at Henna Estate and it's imperative that I say, the villa was absolutely amazing! It is just as seen in the pictures and provided us with the most comfortable and tranquil stay which is just what we needed. A special mention has to be made of the service provided. The workers went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed! The food was delicious! All in all one of the best villa experiences I've had with the perfect blend of modern luxury in the midst of a peaceful paddy field. Most highly recommended! 

From Colombo, Sri Lanka · June 2016 stayed at Galle Henna Estate

 Beautiful private villa, 5 bedrooms

 

“Just book it!”

 Left on 02/10/2016 for a stay in February 2016-stayed at Galle Henna Estate

Svava the owner & Manju the manager were extremely helpful before our trip - answering questions promptly and requests positively! Once there we quickly forgot about our late arrival time and the relaxation began and continued for the entire stay.  

Manju was helpful with suggestions for what to do/see. ...although we kind of wish we had ignored his eating advice about local places as we found the food at Galle Henna Estate to be on par if not better than most of our outside meals :) Still salivating over the potato curry for breakfast. & brinjal. Leave room for the seafood bbq.

Rooms are comfortable if not luxurious and staff very attentive without being intrusive.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes 

Recommended for: Travelers, Friends, Groups

 

Singapore, Singapore - Ian M

 

 

London, United Kingdom - TripAdvisor Holiday Letting, tree-cycle1234

Truly amazing - the best guest house we have ever stayed in

Left on Jan 28, 2016 for a stay in Dec 2015-stay at Galle Henna Estate

An exceptional guest house. We rented the whols place and felt really at home. It is immaculate - a beautifully restored old house with antique furniture. Bedrooms spacious with 4 posters with full mosquito nets (not that there were many), amazing bathrooms. Rooms were cleaned every day and beds made, with frequent fresh sheets and towels. The majordomo Manju and his staff look after everything perfectly (he even has a tuk-tuk for guests -at a modest price). Food is amazing - you just agree what you'd like - the cooking is fantastic and they can make lots of Sri Lankan specialities (you just pay for the shopping, bills are provided). Location is very good, a perfect quiet location overlooking paddy fields (with ibis, buffalo and exotic birds). The swimming pool is immaculate and a great place to relax. Nearby are good beaches, but when at home you are away from the tourist trail. Also within easy reach is an ancient rock temple, and Galle. We loved to wander about in Galle fort and see sunsets from the ramparts or the balcony bar of the Rampart Hotel. Galle itself has interesting bustling streets and an extraordinary department store that sells 'everything'! This house is exceptional in every way!

“Relaxing,rejuvenating,peaceful”

Reviewed yesterdayNEW

Imagine a beautifully restored heritage villa set among the sylvan surroundings of paddy fields, far, far from the madding crowd. That is Galle Henna Estate. We were two families consisting of 7 people who were visiting Galle for the first time. We reached the villa in the morning after a harrowing,sleepless night with our flight having been delayed by 6 hours. The moment we landed at the villa the smiling faces of Manju,Upali and the rest of the staff lifted our spirits. We had a wonderful breakfast the first of many fantastic meals at the villa. It is tempting to stay in the villa and not venture out. There are books to read, games to play and a swimming pool to swim in(which glows with purple lights at night).The staff are all exceptional, attentive and unobtrusive. You can sit in your bedroom and look out at the green paddy fields and watch the dark rain clouds roll in. Manju,the manager, takes care of all your needs whether it is ordering food, suggesting menus or arranging transport and suggesting places to visit.We loved the Sri Lankan food served at the villa. This was a memorable holiday which will stay with us for a long time.

  • Stayed May 2016, traveled with family

 Report

Ask PADMAJA_10 about Galle Henna Estate

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g3198032-d5967473-r378914763-Galle_Henna_Estate-Talpe_Galle_Southern_Province.html#

 

Wow!

What an amazing house and location! We stayed here for 2 nights and had the whole house for our selfs (that was part of the charm aswell). I can not think of anything what could have been better, the rooms were spacious and with an enormous bathroom (!) the house is amazingly renovated, the pool is to die for and the location is excellent (5 min from Talpe beach, one of Sri Lanka's most beautifull beach and 20 min from Galle). It was more then perfect, we could not wish for a better place to stay in that area of SL south. And the staff, what can i say: they are so nice and kind! 

From Dordrecht, Netherlands · March 2016

 Galle Henna Estate, comfy room - AC

 

Saranya-airbnb guest

I can safely say this was one of the most beautiful houses that my friends and I have stayed in.

From the start to the end of the stay we were in awe. Manju and his colleagues looked after us so well, we felt like princes and princesses! They made delicious breakfasts for us, always taking our requests into consideration and to top it all off gave us the best send off with a bbq by the pool (we paid for the ingredients but they went over and beyond with their service). The home is spacious and as it looks in the photos and even if you are a big group, you will have your privacy. We all hope to be back. Thank you!!

March 2016

Galle henna estate 

 

Stayed 5 nights in this beautiful beach house. Quick responses from host. Great location, clean and tidy, simple but modern with Airconditioning that works very well. Breakfast of fruits, eggs and toast. Friendly and helpful staff. Very happy and I would return to stay here. Thank you.

Leave Public Response -Stayed Galle Henna Beach House

April 2016

 

From Sichuan, China · February 2016-stayed at Galle Henna Estate

房东Svava非常热心而且耐心,在预定前不厌其烦的帮助我解决问题,入住不久后又收到她的问候信息。强烈推荐,这是一栋远离喧嚣的度假庄园,开车到加勒约25分钟,离乌拉瓦图纳海滩约10分钟,如果你包车这当然不是问题。服务人员训练有素,别墅内陈设精美精心布置,热水充足空调效果很好,一切都很棒。Svava is a nice and patient owner,I'd like to highly recommend this villa to later (website hidden) is a quiet villa far from noisy,it costs about 25 minutes drive to Galle and 10 minutes drive to Unawatuna Beach,If you rent a car,the distance is not a case.Manager Manju is warmhearted and all staff are well trained,all facilities in the Villa are high quality and good taste,shower is very warm and abundant,everything is good,thanks.

 

Simon Wales- Booked on Air bnb and stayed at Galle Henna Estate

We stayed at the galle henna estate for 10 days, we had such a lovely time. The villa and wildlife was just amazing, we saw monitor lizards, snakes, King fishers, purple face langur monkeys, wood peckers and squirrels all while just sat around the pool. The staff were great and if you get the chance I would definitely go to mihiripenna beach and the whale watching with 'raja and the whales' . 

 

April 2016

China, Sichuan - Airbnb, Yiru

February 2016-stayed at Galle Henna Estate

我们在SVAVA的别墅里度过了愉快的假日,别墅位于加勒Talpe的一条宁静的乡间小道里。这里空气清新,白天小松鼠甚至会从客厅穿行而过,夜晚院子里还能看见萤火虫。房间的布置也充满了殖民地风情的南亚情调。 别墅有1名经理3位服务员以及1位守夜的看门人为我们服务。经理MANJU的英文很不错,能够非常清晰的了解我们的需求,根据我们的意见采购食材,为我们准备了每天的早餐以及一次泳池边的BBQ。3名服务员总是会在你们需要的时候及时出现,随时清洁屋子,整理房间。守夜的老大爷,每天晚上都会在客人休息后,关好别墅的大门。身为佛教徒的他还会在入夜后为我们祈福。 如果你是和家人朋友一起来加勒度假,一定不要错过这个别墅,我相信这里一定会带给你惊喜! We have amazing vaction here! a quiet country road villa is located in Talpe in Galle.The air is fresh, In the morning the small squirrels even through the living room, and at night we can see the firefly. The layout of the room is also full of the colonial style of South asia. The villa has 1 managers 3 waiters and 1 night keeper. Manager Manju's English is very good, can be very clear understanding of our needs, according t!o our views to buy food for us to prepare a daily breakfast and arrangement a BBQ for us. 3 waiters will always appear when you need to, Every night after we sleep, the night keeper shut the door for us.He is Buddhist he praying for us every night. If you have vaction with your family and friend, you can not miss this villa, I believe you will have a surprise

 

“Just choose this little patch of paradise!”

  • Don't look any further. Just stay here!!! Honestly it was absolutely amazing. Perfect place, lovely pool, beautiful decore, staff so helpful. Great place to stay close to Galle and beach. You would struggle to find something as lovely as this for the price.

    You and 1 other person found this review helpful.

  • January 11, 2016 stayed at Galle Henna Estate

  • Tarnya booked with booking.com

     Australia

    2 Reviews

    1 helpful vote booking .com

    10 rating

“Parfaite ”  Tripadvisor, February stay 2016

Cette maison est magnifique ! C'est calme. Le personnel est accueillant et toujours souriant. La piscine est grande et très bien entretenue, on peut même y manger.
Le chef nous a cuisiné des plats à tomber par terre, un délice ! 
Ces vacances au Sri Lanka était magique et cette maison y a contribué ainsi que son super manager


 

 

Zurich, Switzerland, February Airbnb, Reto

Big Family Suite with AC. Galle Henna EState

Very nice location. One of the best on our Sri Lanka trip. Big family room with two wonderful bathrooms.

All in old colonial style.

Thanks!!

 

Gwyn W

 

“Amazing Property, Amazing Location, Amazing Experience”

  

Left on 02/02/2016 for a stay in December 2015-stayed ay Galle Henna Beach House

This place is located right at the end of UnaWatuna beach - the best sunset views and, because it's the last property on the beach, there are no passing beach walkers.... so it feels 'exclusive'.
The house itself feels very cool and upmarket - the decor and furnishings are simple, but good quality. The large downstairs living / dining area opens out onto the front terrace (with another large dining table) and a garden that overlooks the sea. Upstairs is a large veranda with sea views and three large double bedrooms, each en-suite. We needed extra beds in each room and this was no problem. The bedrooms are fab! Air-conditioned, four-poster beds, large bathrooms with walk-in showers. Everything is high quality and very tasteful.
Breakfast was great - fruit, eggs, toast etc.... other meals were available too... but we decided to wander down the beach each evening to try different beach bars.
This is a real hidden gem..... but Sshh!, Don't tell everyone..... we'll be back here again!

Detailed ratings for this rental​

 

  • Avaneesh Thautam

    An amazing place overlooking the beautiful Unawatuna Beach. Modern in design and very well kept. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Probably the best possible place along the whole beach. Great access to the beach, good food is right down the road/beach. 

    Stayed Galle Henna Beach House

 

Absolutely loved my stay here and wish I could come back!

The staff (Jeevan and Chaturanga) are the sweetest and were super helpful. Loved the welcome Coconut water, it was super refreshing! The views from the villa are stunning.. I got to see one of the best sunsets I've ever seen in my life from the outdoor space. The interiors of the villa are super modern as well.. it was an absolute pleasure to stay here.

From Dubai, United Arab Emirates · April 2016

 Sea View - Unawatuna Beach