Galle Living

直到最近,加勒还是这个热带天堂中几乎未被发现的世外桃源。只有几个勇敢的家庭,海滩bohos和稍微古怪的Asiaphile二手房主。

今天,Galle和Vogue,Tatler,Elle和Harpers Bazaar的旅行和时尚网页以及几乎所有经过考虑的旅行杂志一起蓬勃发展。

 

斯里兰卡和加勒地区正迅速成为一个品味,风格,精神觉醒和纯粹放纵的目的地,为一个更开明的旅行者,寻求旅行的平衡和灵感。

 

到达那里

从科伦坡向南行驶到加勒,沿着南部高速公路是一个宜人,独特和风景优美的旅程,需要一个小时的车程。另外,还有古老的加勒路(Galle Road)拥抱海岸线,大约需要三个小时才能到达加勒(Galle)。

虽然质感旅程!遇到当地村庄和当地民众的生活,这条小路继续相对自由地流动,景色令人惊叹。

 

乘坐汽车,火车或空中的出租车服务可以到达加勒,该服务在距离南部约20分钟的Koggala湖上运行。有用的开车时间包括:科伦坡到加勒(一小时);机场到加勒(2.5小时);加勒到米瑞莎(45分钟)加勒到唐加勒(2小时); Tangalle到Yala(2.5小时);康提到加勒(5.5小时);努瓦拉埃利亚到加勒(6小时)。

 

历史背景

加勒的历史重要性在于其天然海港和优越的地理位置。长期以来,它一直是贸易和商业中心,来自世界各地的船只停靠在古老的港口,以便从这个岛上交换物品以获得宝藏:珍贵的宝石,珍珠,香料和香味木材。加勒甚至被称为圣经中的“他施”,所罗门王的船只在港口呼唤乘坐宝藏。

 

1505年葡萄牙人洛伦佐·德·阿尔梅达(Lorenzo De Almeida)意外抵达,当时他的船队在海上风暴后偏离航线,改变了这个岛国的历史。 1640年葡萄牙人随后是荷兰人,1796年则是英国人。随着每次占领,加勒的景观都发生了变化,文化影响仍然存在。科伦坡在19世纪70年代成为斯里兰卡的主要港口,加勒的影响力减弱,或许保护了它的魅力。

如今,加勒是一个繁华的省会城市,种族和宗教的万花筒并存。加勒的大多数人口是僧伽罗人,但是有大量的摩尔人,马来人,泰米尔人和越来越多的欧洲人,主要但不仅仅是英国人,他们被该地区丰富的文化遗产,美丽的海滩和悠闲的生活方式所吸引。艺术家,设计师和作家每年都会聚集在一起寻求休息和灵感。

 

景点

南部的遗产拥有丰富的文化,建筑,民间戏剧和工艺品。加勒的主要景点是17世纪的荷兰堡垒。大部分古老的堡垒和乡镇仍然保留着,保存完好的堡垒,公共建筑,教堂,灯塔和迷宫般的狭窄街道。围绕堡垒的城墙今天用于浪漫的夜间漫步和方便的观景点,以捕捉令人惊叹的海洋日落。在城墙下方,斯里兰卡的板球队经常在重建的加勒国际体育场进行比赛。几个沙滩都近在咫尺,包括美丽的新月形Unawatuna海湾。

 

大海一般平静,在乌纳瓦图纳,珊瑚礁比澳大利亚的大堡礁更容易捕鱼。在加勒到Ahangama之间,有许多较小的鲜为人知的海湾和海滩,有几个受到冲浪者的欢迎。佛教寺庙,热带雨林,红树林林立的湖泊和水道是众多鸟类和蜥蜴的栖息地,这使得该地区也为大自然爱好者带来了欢乐。

 

购物

加勒堡提供越来越有趣的购物。 Olanda古董店和Historical Mansion酒店提供荷兰时期的古董家具和文物。一个小型的艺术和摄影画廊在加勒堡酒店旁边间歇性地开放,值得鼓励。 Elephant Walk出售当地艺术品,大象粪文具,香薰蜡烛,香料和自制酸辣酱。 Shoba Display Gallery的艺术作品和装饰品大多是在商店内制作的。对于镶有宝石和半宝石的金银首饰,请访问Laksana,Shantha Weerasekera,Ibrahim Jewelers,Jo Jo's,Pedlar's Inn画廊,Gekko's和Chrystolite教堂街。 Barefoot画廊是科伦坡主要商店的一个分店,拥有由手动纺织品和充满活力的手摇纺织面料制成的服装和亚麻布。 Mimimango下来Leyn Baan街有一个色彩缤纷的女装系列包括

                                                Unawatuna

Unawatuna纳位于斯里兰卡的加勒区,因其美丽的海滩和珊瑚礁而成为一个非常受欢迎的旅游景点。无论是用餐,日光浴还是潜水,您都可以参加Unawatuna的活动。

 

享受世界上最好的海滩之一

 

乌纳瓦图纳是一个小村庄,海滩是主要的焦点。它非常狭窄,有美丽的沙子,现在已经发生了很多重建,沿着海滩有很多餐厅和住宿。丛林海滩特别可爱,水清澈透明。在周三晚上的季节,甚至还有DJ海滩派对。

 

参观美丽的佛教寺庙

 

漫步在海滩的西端到山顶,您可以看到宝塔,并在另一侧欣赏丛林海滩的美丽海景。在晴朗的日子里,您有时可以看到远处加勒堡的轮廓。一天中的任何时候都值得一游,但是看日落时特别漂亮,通常有一些当地人玩得很开心。

 

在珊瑚礁附近去潜水

乌纳瓦图纳拥有美丽的珊瑚礁,附近的许多服装都提供全套设备潜水服务。许多友好的潜水服务提供沉船潜水和珊瑚潜水,价格合理,适合许多不同国家的游客。如果你认为乌纳瓦图纳的海滩很漂亮,水下的东西一定会把你吹走。

维珍白茶 - 来自加勒

维珍白茶最初来自中国,传说中的皇帝只允许带有丝绸手套的处女用金剪刀将茶芽切成金碗。在斯里兰卡,Handunugoda Estate推出了这款茶,备受好评。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

采摘者必须戴上手套,以防止任何污染,通过汗水或香水,微妙的味道,他们的工作是在芽萌芽前的早些时候进行。然后仅使用过滤的阳光干燥芽,它们的产量非常小,导致拣选结束时的克数而不是种植园其他地方的千克。

 

 

还发现这种茶具有10.11%的抗氧化剂含量,是任何饮料中最高的天然存在量,并且具有强大的健康益处。

维珍白茶可能是该地区最值得注意的酿造,但我的访问揭示了无数其他美味的产品,包括蓝宝石乌龙茶,因为茶叶生长的土壤镶嵌着微小的蓝宝石,岛屿也是着名的宝石对于。

冲浪斯里兰卡

虽然斯里兰卡周围的海浪是季节性的,但是韦利加马海滩休息是一个例外,那里全年都可以进行冲浪,适合初学者和高级游。 距离加勒生活酒店仅有几公里。 这是冲浪训练的主要场所。 波浪的高度仅为2英尺到最大,这对于初学者和儿童来说绝对是理想的位置。还有许多冲浪板可供租用,以及韦利加马海滩的教练。

YATAGALA TEMPLE

Yatagala Raja Maha Viharaya酒店距离Galle Henna庄园仅有1公里,是一座安静的岩石寺庙,拥有9米长的卧佛。 壁画墙壁采用典型的康提时期风格。 僧侣们已经在这里生活了至少1500年。 你很少在这里找到游客,这只会增加吸引力。 当您登上长长的楼梯时,您可以欣赏到稻田的美景。​

YALA SAFARI PARK

雅拉国家公园是观赏野生大象的最佳地点之一。 该公园是许多动物的家园,包括水牛,豹,猴子,鳄鱼,野猪和熊。

从远处可以听到猫的声音,并且非常吸引人。 他们喜欢在30英尺高的岩石顶部沐浴阳光,令人叹为观止,所以拍摄变焦/长焦镜头。 亚拉西部(第一区)被命名为世界上豹密度最高的地区。

2月至6月/ 7月是地下水位低的最佳时间。 豹,大象和许多小动物正在争夺同样的饮用水。 您可能还会看到懒熊,鹿,野猪,水牛,鳄鱼和猴子。 鸟类繁多 - 多达130种。 该公园还包含修道院定居点,Situlpahuwa和其他重要的朝圣中心。

 

请注意,Yala通常在9月关闭。

Est.2002

LIVING  GALLE

The Bon Viants and Gypsetters are heading to Galle in south-west Sri Lanka. Artist, Hip Lawyers, Surfers, and              entrepreneurs have now discovered this Serendipitous enclave.

 

Until recently, Galle was an almost undiscovered hideaway in this tropical paradise. The preserve of just a few intrepid families, beach bohos and slightly eccentric Asiaphile second-home owners. 

Today, Galle flourishes the travel and fashion pages of Vogue, Tatler , Elle and  Harpers Bazaar along with almost every considered travel magazine.

 

Sri Lanka and the Galle area is fast becoming the destination of taste, style, spiritual awakening and sheer indulgence for a more enlightened traveller, seeking balance and inspiration on their travels. 

 

 Getting There

 The journey south to Galle from Colombo, is a pleasant, unique and scenic one along the Southern highway, which takes one hour by car. Alternatively, there is also the old Galle Road that hugs the coastline and takes about three hours to reach Galle.

Although a textured journey! which encounters local villages and the lives of local folk, this tiny road continues to flow relatively freely and the views are stunning.

 Galle can be reached by car, train or the Air Taxi service which when operational lands on Koggala Lake, about 20 minutes to the south. Useful drive times include: Colombo to Galle (one hour); Airport to Galle (2.5 hours); Galle to Mirissa (45 minutes) Galle to Tangalle (2 hours); Tangalle to Yala (2.5 hours); Kandy to Galle (5.5 hours); Nuwara Eliya to Galle (6 hours).

 

 

Historical Background

Galle owes its historic importance to its natural harbour and strategic location.  It has long been a hub of trade and commerce with ships from all parts of the world docking at the ancient port to barter their goods for treasures from this island: precious gems, pearls, spices, and scented woods.  Galle is even referred to as the Biblical `Tarshish’ where King Solomon's ships called at port to take aboard treasures. 

 

The accidental arrival of the Portuguese Lorenzo De Almeida in 1505, when his fleet of ships steered off course following a storm at sea, changed the history of this island nation.  The Portuguese were followed by the Dutch in 1640 and then the British in 1796.  With each occupation, Galle’s landscape changed and the cultural influences remained.  Colombo became Sri Lanka’s main port in the 1870s and Galle’s influence waned, perhaps protecting its charm.

Today Galle is a bustling provincial capital where a kaleidoscope of ethnicities and religions live side by side. The majority of Galle’s population is Sinhalese but there are significant communities of Moors, Malays, Tamils and increasingly a scattering of Europeans, largely but not exclusively British, who have been attracted by the area’s rich cultural heritage, beautiful beaches and laid back lifestyles. Artists, designers and writers flock each year for rest and inspiration.

 

Sights

The southern heritage is rich in culture, architecture, folk drama and crafts.  Galle’s main attraction is the 17th century Dutch Fort.  Much of the old Fort and the township within still remain, with its well-preserved bastions, public buildings, churches, lighthouse and a maze of narrow streets.  The ramparts that surround the Fort are today used for romantic evening strolls and convenient viewpoints to catch breathtaking ocean sunsets. Below the ramparts, Sri Lanka’s cricket team regularly plays at the rebuilt Galle International Stadium. Several sandy beaches are within easy reach, including the beautiful, crescent-shaped Unawatuna Bay.

 

The sea is generally calm and in Unawatuna and the reef shelters more fish than the Great Barrier Reef in Australia.  Between Galle to Ahangama, there are many smaller lesser-known bays and beaches, several popular with surfers. Buddhist temples, tropical rainforests, and mangrove-lined lakes and waterways home to numerous species of birds and monitor lizards makes this area interesting for nature lovers as well.

Shopping

Galle Fort offers increasingly interesting shopping. Dutch period antique furniture and artifacts are available at the Olanda antique shop and the Historical Mansion. A small art and photographic gallery opens intermittently next to Galle Fort Hotel and deserves encouragement. The Elephant Walk sells local art works, elephant dung stationery, scented candles, spices and home made chutneys. Shoba Display Gallery has art works and ornaments which are mostly made within the shop. For gold and silver jewellery set with precious and semi-precious stones, visit Laksana, Shantha Weerasekera, Ibrahim Jewellers, Jo Jo's, Pedlar’s Inn gallery, Gekko’s and Chrystolite down Church Street. The Barefoot Gallery, a branch of the main shop in Colombo, has clothing and linen made of handspun and vibrantly-coloured handloom fabrics. Mimimango down Leyn Baan Street has a colourful collection of ladies wear including swimwear, sarongs and kaftans. Lollapalooza run by the same owners as Mimimango, has a colourful range of clothing and gift items. The Corner Shop is a new and vibrant addition in Galle Fort to brightens the end of Pedlar Street. This delicious independent boutique offers an eclectic mix of clothing, accessories, gifts and souvenirs inspired by Sri Lanka with a western twist. The Orchid House located on Hospital Street is a lovely shop with a range of linen clothing, silver jewelry and gift items including hand made pottery.

        

 

                                                Unawatuna

Located in Sri Lanka’s Galle District, Unawatuna is a very popular tourism spot due to its beautiful beaches and coral reefs. Whether its dining, sunbathing, or scuba diving, there’s no end to the activities you can participate in at Unawatuna.

 

Enjoy One of the Best Beaches in the World

Unawatuna is a small village and the beach is the main focus. It is quite narrow with beautiful sand, and now that a lot of rebuilding has occurred, there are many restaurants and accommodations along the beach. Jungle Beach in particular is lovely, and the water is clear & deep. On Wednesday evenings in season there is even a DJ beach party.

Visit the Beautiful Buddhist Temple

A stroll up the western end of the beach to the top of the hill rewards you with a pagoda and a nice ocean view of the jungle beach on the other side. On a clear day you can sometimes see the outline of Galle fort in the distance. It’s worth the walk any time of day, but its particularly beautiful to watch the sunset, when there are usually a few locals having a good time.

Go Scuba Diving Near the Coral Reef

Unawatuna has a beautiful coral reef, and many nearby outfits offer diving with full equipment. Many friendly diving services offer wreck dives and coral dives, for reasonable prices and accommodating tourists of many different countries. If you thought the beaches of Unawatuna were beautiful, what’s under the water is sure to blow you away.

Virgin white tea-from Galle

It is bought by Mariage Freres in France which is the most exclusive tea salon in the world.

(A deliciously delicate brew from Sri Lanka’s Handunugoda Estate located only a few kms from all three Galle Living properties on the south coast)

 

Virgin white tea is originally from China where legend has it that emperors allowed only virgins with silk gloves to cut the tea buds with gold scissors into gold bowls. In Sri Lanka,the Handunugoda Estate has introduced this tea to great acclaim.

 

Pickers have to wear gloves to prevent any tainting, by perspiration or perfume, of the delicate taste, and their work is carried out in the early hours before the buds unfurl. The buds are then dried using only filtered sunlight and they Yield is tantalisingly small, resulting in grams at the end of the pick rather than the kilos elsewhere on the plantation.

 

It has also been discovered that this tea has an antioxidant content of 10.11 per cent, the highest naturally occurring amount in any beverage, and has a powerful range of health benefits.  

Virgin white tea might be the estate’s most noteworthy brew, but my visit uncovered myriad other delicious offerings, including the sapphire oolong tea, so called because the soil where the tea is grown inlaced with minute sapphires, the gem for which the Island is also famous for. 

surf  sri  lanka 

Although the swell all around Sri Lanka is seasonal, one exception is the Weligama beach break where surf is available all year around for beginner and advanced. Located only a few km from Galle Living properties. This is a prime location for surf training. With wave’s heights ranging only  2 ft to max., this is all absolutely the ideal location for beginners and Children.There are also a number of surf boards for hire with instructors along weligama Beach.

YATAGALA TEMPLE

Just 1km  from Galle Henna estate, the Yatagala Raja Maha Viharaya is a quiet rock temple with a 9m reclining Buddha. The mural-covered walls are painted in the typical style of the Kandyan period. Monks have been living here for at least 1500 years. You'll seldom find tourist here , which only adds to the appeal. As you ascend the long flights of stairs, there are good views over the rice fields.

YALA SAFARI PARK

Yala National Park is one of the best places for sightings of wild Elephants. The park is home to many animals including Buffaloes, Leopards, Monkeys, Crocodiles, Wild boars and Bears.

The cats chuff can be heard from a distance and is so soporific. They love to bask in the sun at the top of 30ft rocks and it’s breathtaking, so take a zoom/telephoto lens. The western part of Yala (block one) is named as the area with the highest leopard concentration in the world.

Feb-Jun/Jul is the optimum time to visit when water tables are low. Leopard, elephant and many smaller animals are competing for the same drinking supply. You are likely also to see sloth bears, deer, wild boar, buffaloes, crocodiles and monkeys. Birds are in profusion – up to 130 species. The park also contains a monastic settlement, Situlpahuwa and other important centres of pilgrimage.

 

Be aware Yala is usually closed in September.

Est.2002